PDA

View Full Version : How do you not trip and fall on cracks when quad skaing outdoors?

rollin stone
August 9th, 2012, 09:07 PM
I'm a novice skater to both in-lines and quads, training to get ready for roller derby boot camp. I can now skate with my quads without falling regularly on rinks and the outdoor tennis court. :)

Of course, my in-lines are great for the street -- our streets in Texas are concrete with cracks (expansion joints), so there are bumps every 50 ft or so. But I really want to get proficient on my quads (I have some 78a Kryptonic Route 65s) and whenever i try to street skate, I end up just tipping forward after going over the first few cracks.

Any advice?

ZenSteve
August 9th, 2012, 10:21 PM
Move one foot foward, and the other behind. Your body's mass is now centered between the two sets of wheels, and since only one set of skates will hit the crack at a time you'll have one steady skate to keep balance with.

Or use the opportunity to actually step over the crack, as part of your stroke, and don't hit the crack at all.

Both skates hitting that crack at once is just asking to be pitched forward. :)

I'm fairly novice myself, but have found these to be effective at avoiding the faceplant. :tongue:

rollin stone
August 9th, 2012, 10:24 PM
Move one foot foward, and the other behind. Your body's mass is now centered between the two sets of wheels, and since only one set of skates will hit the crack at a time you'll have one steady skate to keep balance with.

Or use the opportunity to actually step over the crack, as part of your stroke, and don't hit the crack at all.

Both skates hitting that crack at once is just asking to be pitched forward. :)

I'm fairly novice myself, but have found these to be effective at avoiding the faceplant. :tongue:

Great advice, Steve! I may try it tonight :)

swolltitan
August 9th, 2012, 10:27 PM
For outdoor quad skating, many people do 1 of 2 options.
1 use larger wheels
2 mount the plate further forward