S k a t e L o g     F o r u m
Inline Skating and Quad Roller Skating
Forum Hosts: Jessica Wright | Kathie Fry

FOLLOW US: Our Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Email    

Home - Forum Index - Africa Skating - Asia Skating - Europe Skating - Oceania Skating - Pan America Skating - Roller_Rinks - Friend the SkateLog Forum in Facebook - SkateLog Forum on Facebook

Forum Administrators: Jessica Wright and Kathie Fry | Email Us
Access code for buying and selling subforums: "skates"
How To Get a User Account and Posting Privileges in the SkateLog Forum
Use Google to Search the SkateLog Forum

Go Back   SkateLog Forum > Special Interest Skating Forums (sorted by number of posts) > Quad Roller Skating Forum > Outdoor Quads
FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Outdoor Quads Discussions about outdoor quad skates and any discussion relatd to skating on quad roller skatse outdoors.

Old September 8th, 2014, 05:58 AM   #1
psychointraining

Default Starfire 500's

Hi everyone

I'm new to skating, and currently have a pair of Starfire 500's... which I bought without knowing much about skating at all. I skate outdoor only, mostly along a beach boulevard.

The reason for this post is I'm not sure I have made the right decision with the Starfires. I've had some problems with either the wheel or toe stops getting caught on debris (I'm only taking little twigs), then I end up nearly tripping and looking like an idiot. Also I've found that when transitioning between surfaces I come a bit unbalanced, there is a part of the boulevard which is smoother than the rest and I feel like I have zero control when rolling on it. I just slow down and get low to avoid falling.

As far as I can tell the boots themselves are alright, they fit pretty well, and the plates seem to be made of solid metal (which I gather is considered best). So what I'm wondering is if I should change to a different set of wheels, or change entirely to a new set of skates (I have had my eye on some Moxi's).